6 International Travel Mistakes to Avoid

Things you’ll wish you looked up before arriving at the airport.

Fox Foto Journal
8 min readMar 8, 2023
Photo of Author

If you enjoy this article, check out the “part 2” : 4 More International Travel Mistakes to Avoid , cheers!

I didn’t realize that I would spend most of 2022 traveling Europe and Asia until I was already 7 countries deep into my year. I am naturally an anxious person and an over-planner, so I thought I had prepared myself pretty well on the short notice before starting the “digital nomad lifestyle” (I cringed a bit even typing that out loud).

I booked all my flights and hotels with flexible, affordable, and refundable services. I bought a “super cool” backpack and took a variety of cameras and lenses with me to capture everything and anything. Though, that seems way less important in hindsight now, more on that in a future article probably.

Point being, I did all of the logistics planning and packing in a way that impressed most of my peers and included failsafes upon failsafes. However, I did make some mistakes, some of which might…

--

--

Fox Foto Journal

Mini-History Documentaries, Camera + Lens Reviews, and Freelance Journalism